Passports graphic Passports Home Luhr Library Home Page
Books Articles Journal List Databases eReserves Videos Web sites Help

History/Biography Databases

Core Databases for History

America: History & Life
Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day. (more info...) |
Biography Resource Center
Biographies on individuals worldwide throughout history and across all disciplines and subject areas. (more info...) |
Historical Abstracts
Focuses on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada). (more info...) |
Combined search of America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Search both databases at once for comprehensive coverage of articles and materials on all areas of history.

Additional Related Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Includes articles on history, political science, the humanities, general sciences, and social sciences. (more info...) |
AP Photo Archive
Provides photographs from the Associated Press dating back to the 19th century. (more info...) |
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online
Current resources on international affairs. (more info...) |
JSTOR
Articles on the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (more info...) |
New York times (online)
The newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to 3 years ago (more info... |
PAIS International (public affairs)
Focuses on literature concerned with public policy. (more info...) |
SocINDEX with Full Text
Includes anthropology, sociology, gerontology, minorities, etc. (more info...) |

Electronic Books and Reference Material

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides a combined search of a number of dictionaries and encyclopedias in various subject areas. (more info...) |
netLibrary
Contains most of Webster's full-text electronic book collection. (more info...) |

Cite Sources

Citation Guides
Links to additional resources on citation and style guides (e.g. APA, MLA, etc.)
RefWorks (Webster/Eden access only)
Create your own research file of citations and notes. Export citations into Refworks and format bibliography in various styles. Note: you will need to sign up for an individual account the first time you log in to the database.

Questions?

Note: a current Webster I.D.# or Eden database password is required for access to the databases. See our Database Help page for more information about access.

Return to: Main database home

Return to ↑ top of page

Updated August 15, 2008
The URL for this page is http://library.webster.edu/databases/dathistory.html