Passports graphic Passports Home Luhr Library Home Page
Books Articles Journal List Databases eReserves Videos Web sites Help

Newspaper Databases

Webster University and Eden Theological Seminary were accessing a number of national and regional newspapers through membership in MOREnet, a state education network. As of August 1, 2008, MOREnet has discontinued access to many of these publications. Users are advised to use the multi-newspaper databases offered below as an alternative.

Multi-Newspaper Databases

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
Excellent source for legal, business, medical, and general information.The news file provides full-text for a large number of national, regional, and international newspapers. Key newspapers covered include the New York Times, St. Louis Post Dispatch, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Times (London) and many others. (more info...) |
MOREnet Full-text Newspapers
Allows you to search the Kansas City Star and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch newspapers simultaneously.
Newspaper Source
Selected full text from regional, national, and international newspapers as well as radio and television transcripts. Mainly late 1990s-present. (more info...) |

Individual Newspaper Databases

The Kansas City Star
Full-text of the newspaper from 1991 to present. |
New York Times (online)
The newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to 3 years ago (more info... |
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Full-text of the newspaper from 1988 to present. |
Wall Street Journal
Provides the full-text of articles (no financial tables) from the Eastern edition of the newspaper from 1984 to the present. Note: As of 2007 the Wall Street Journal is no longer a separate database. This link provides a publication search of the WSJ via the ABI/Inform Complete database.(more info...) |

Cite Sources

Links to additional resources on citation may be found on our Citation Guides page.

APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources
APA guidelines for citing online sources. (Webster/Eden access only) Note: If you are using Acrobat 6.0 and have difficulty viewing the file, open Acrobat 6.0 and try the following: Edit--> Preferences--> Internet--> Uncheck PDF in browser.
APA Formatting and Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
MLA Formatting and Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/557/01/
RefWorks (Webster/Eden access only)
Create your own research file of citations and notes. Export citations into Refworks and format bibliography in APA style. Note: you will need to sign up for an individual account the first time you log in to the database.

Questions?

Note: a current Webster I.D.# or Eden database password is required for access to the databases. See our Database Help page for more information about access.

Return to: Main database home

Return to ↑ top of page

Updated August 1, 2008
The URL for this page is http://library.webster.edu/databases/datnews.html