Religion, Theology, & Philosophy Databases
Passwords for databases
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (formerly ATLAS)
- A comprehensive database that covers all areas of religion and theology and includes full texts of many articles.
-
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online
- Index to articles, books, and documents in many aspects of church history, biblical studies, and ministry. Also covers moral theology & papal documents. Coverage began in 1981.
- New Testament Abstracts
- Provides English language summaries of works in all areas of New Testament scholarship.
- Old Testament Abstracts
- Provides English language summaries of works in all areas of scholarship on the Hebrew Bible.
-
Philosopher's Index
- Covers scholarly research in all fields of philosophy.
- Religious
and Theological Abstracts
- Articles on all areas of religion, theology, and world religion.
-
Zeitschrifteninhaltsdienst Theologie/Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
- Free, online resource from the Tübingen University containing document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and conference publications.
^ top
Passwords for databases
-
Academic Search Premier
- Includes articles on philosophy, religion, the humanities, general sciences, and social sciences.
- Arts & Humanities Search
- Indexes articles from journals in the humanities and related fields.

- JSTOR (Arts & Sciences II and Arts & Sciences III)
- A digital archive of scholarly journals. Subject areas covered by these two collections include religion and many other fields.
-
Project Muse
- Full-text coverage of the humanities and social sciences.
^ top
Passwords for databases
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
- Source for current and historical information on virtually any subject.
- Encyclopedia of Religion
- Online version of the second edition of this 15 volume reference work.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Provides a combined search of a number of dictionaries and encyclopedias in various subject areas.
-
Newspaper Source
- Includes selected full text for newarly 30 (U.S.) and international newspapers plus selected full text for more than 200 regional newspapers. In addition,
full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. (vendor description). Most coverage
dates from the late 1990s.
- New York Times
- The newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to 3 years ago
-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
- The premier historical dictionary of the English language.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Articles with bibliographies on philosophers and issues in philosophy.
- St.
Louis Post-Dispatch
- Full-text of the newspaper from 1988 to present.
^ top
Passwords for databases
- America: History & Life
- Focuses on the history of the United States and Canada from early times to present day. Includes related disciplines such as sociology, popular culture, gender issues, anthropology, literature, folklore, history of various disciplines, etc. Lists articles from journals published worldwide as well as book and media reviews and dissertations. Covers literature published from 1964 to the present. For world history, use Historial Abstracts, below.
- AnthroSource
- Articles published by the American Anthropological Association.
-
Contemporary Women's Issues
- Information on women's issues worldwide.
-
ERIC (education)
- Extensive coverage of education issues.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide
- Covers marriage and the family, parenting, gender issues,
sexuality, etc.
- Gender Studies Database
- Extensive coverage of the social sciences literature related to gender issues.
- Historical Abstracts
- Focuses on the history of the world (excluding U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes related disciplines,
such as multicultural studies, psychology, religion, political science, etc. Provides worldwide coverage of the journal literature in history, selected book reviews, and references to dissertations. Covers literature published from 1955 to the present. For U.S. and Canadian history, use America: History & Life, above.
- PAIS International (public affairs)
- Contains more than 400,000 records representing articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories. Subjects include agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, law and legislation, political science, public administration, and international relations.
-
PsycInfo 1887-Current (psychology)
- Lists materials on all areas of psychology and related fields.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
- Includes anthropology, sociology, gerontology, minorities, etc.

^ top
Passwords for databases
If you want to do a quick search for full-text articles in 9 pre-selected databases in religion/theology/philosophy, use:
- • Quick Article Search
- Quick Article Search searches the following Ebscohost databases for full text content only: Academic Search Premier, ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, New Testament Abstracts, Newspaper Source (1990s to present; includes news transcripts), Old Testament Abstracts, Philosopher's Index, PsycINFO (psychology), and SocINDEX (sociology/anthropology).
If you want to make your own selection of several databases to search at the same time, use:
- • Central Search: Religion, Theology & Philosophy
^ top
Passwords for databases
If you already know the date and title of a journal in which a specific article appears, use:
- • Journal/Magazine/Newspaper A-Z list
^ top